4
\$\begingroup\$

Both of them say they increase the carrying capacity of the character: 300% for the Heavyload Belt and Burdenless by 50%.

I have a feeling they won't stack due to both using percentages, but there is no info on the Internet I can find.

\$\endgroup\$
1
7
\$\begingroup\$

They do stack. Absent any rule that says otherwise (and Pathfinder is absent of rules that say otherwise), the math works exactly like normal math: Ant Hauls' 3× carrying capacity and Burdenless armor's 50% increase (which is the same as 1.5×) just straight multiply together to give 4.5× carrying capacity.

The only alteration of multiplication rules in Pathfinder is for modifiers to rolls, which use special rules (PFRPG Core Rulebook, p. 12) to keep roll modifiers from being multiplied into the stratosphere. Carrying capacity isn't a roll bonus or penalty, so multipliers to it behave as-written, in normal mathy ways.

\$\endgroup\$
7
  • \$\begingroup\$ Multipliers typically don't multiply each other still, they usually bump together (for 3.5x carrying capacity in this example) \$\endgroup\$ – Delioth Jul 14 '16 at 15:22
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Delioth As explained in the answer, that's only for multipliers of roll modifiers. It's a common belief that it applies to other things, but it's mistaken. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jul 14 '16 at 15:24
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Delioth The answer already does. It's not a call at all. “Hmm, the game doesn't tell me to change the fundamental laws of math, in fact the only place it mentions handling multipliers in a custom way, it explicitly says it applies only to roll modifiers… But I'm not sure then. Maybe I'm supposed to anyway?” ← This should not be happening. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jul 14 '16 at 15:29
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Delioth To the contrary, it's in the book verbatim. I don't have my book with me now or I'd give a page number, but if you have the PDF searching for "multiplier" will hit the page. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jul 14 '16 at 15:38
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Back to the book now; it's Core, page 12. Thanks for prompting me to improve the post that little bit! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Jul 15 '16 at 3:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.