2
\$\begingroup\$

If I were to cast a spell targeting an opponent while invisible or stealthed, would they be denied their Dexterity bonus? For example, if I cast Enervation while under the effect of Invisibility, would their Dex bonus be subtracted from their touch AC?

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

From Combat:

If you can't react to a blow, you can't use your Dexterity bonus to AC.

(Also see Combat Modifiers, which explicitly states an attacker's Invisibility denies dexterity to the defender)

This means that for spells which require a touch attack, such as Enervation, they would not be able to use their dexterity bonus unless they had detected you by other means.

Note that this only applies to Armor Class; it does not apply to spells which require a Reflex Save, such as Fireball.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I was looking for this, but was unable to find it. I visited combat rules, concealment, invisibility, and even the rogues sneak attack. \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Jul 29 '16 at 4:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes, I was almost certain there was a rule to the effect of, "Enemies that aren't aware of you are denied their dexterity bonus to armor class," (it seems to be a pretty common understanding of the rules). I was very surprised to find out how vague the rules on the subject actually are. \$\endgroup\$ – Tim C Jul 30 '16 at 5:24
-1
\$\begingroup\$

Check the invisibility condition in the rule book. It specifically addresses this. It should be something like +2 to attack (assuming they don't have the blindsight or scent abilities) and there is no dex bonus.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ This answer could be improved by quoting (or linking) the rule it references, rather than speaking vaguely about its contents. \$\endgroup\$ – Tim C Jul 30 '16 at 5:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.