4
\$\begingroup\$

If I were to enchant a composite longbow with two +1 enchantments, how much would it cost?

I have a masterwork longsword (315gp). I want to add the magic enchantments Keen and Bane to it. Both of those enchantments are a +1 price of 2000gp each. Would it cost 4000gp to enchant the longsword or would it have the cost of a +2 enchantment of 8000gp?

\$\endgroup\$
17
\$\begingroup\$

Special properties are priced as if you were increasing the enhancement bonus of the item by that amount. So a +1 keen longbow costs the same as a +2 longbow and a +1 keen bane longbow costs the same as +3 longbow. All magic weapons must have at least +1, so a keen longbow or keen bane longbow would be impossible. Enhancement bonus costs scale quadratically, \$bonus^2 \times 2\,000\text{ gp}\$. So +1 is \$2\,000\text{ gp}\$, +2 (or +1 keen) is \$8\,000\text{ gp}\$, and +3 (or +1 keen bane) is \$18\,000\text{ gp}\$.

These rules are stated in the section on magic weapons:

Special abilities count as additional bonuses for determining the market value of the item, but do not modify attack or damage bonuses (except where specifically noted).

A weapon with a special ability must also have at least a +1 enhancement bonus.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Since it has multiple enchantments on it, equaling the price of a +3, can it hit monsters that can only be hit/damaged with +3 enchantments, or that's just a cost thing, not a damage thing? \$\endgroup\$ – Jesse Cohoon Aug 7 '16 at 3:07
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @JesseCohoon To my knowledge, there are no such monsters (DR pierced by specific amounts of enhancement bonus died in the 3.0 to 3.5 transition); what you may be thinking of is Pathfinder’s rule that allows higher enhancement bonuses to pierce DR normally vulnerable to certain materials and/or alignments. Assuming that is what you mean, then no, a +1 keen bane weapon would not pierce that. In general, it is just for calculating the cost. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 7 '16 at 3:28
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ KRyan is correct, only the actual enhancement bonus allows you to overcome additional DRs, not the 'effective' bonus used for special quality pricing calculations. To bypass DR/adamantine you need a +5 weapon. \$\endgroup\$ – GreySage Aug 7 '16 at 3:42
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Correct. The equivalency is only for price. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 8 '16 at 4:12
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that because a bane weapon does count as having a higher-than-usual enhancement bonus against certain creatures, it might actually count as being able to ignore the DR of those creatures as if it had a higher enhancement bonus... Maybe. The interaction of those two rules elements is open to debate. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Aug 13 '16 at 10:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.