Does Malevolence need an ethereal ghost that is manifested as opposed to a non-ethereal ghost? Is it possible to un-ethereal a ghost? I thought it's always ethereal, and incorporeal too when manifested only.
Is this a case of bad wording or errata or type-error?

Once per round, an ethereal ghost can merge its body with a creature on the Material Plane. This ability is similar to a magic jar spell (caster level 10th or the ghost’s Hit Dice, whichever is higher), except that it does not require a receptacle. To use this ability, the ghost must be manifested and it must try move into the target’s space;

This question was in relation to Can multiple ghosts use Malevolence on one creature?


1 Answer 1


Yes, Malevolence requires an ethereal ghost, because it's possible to un-ethereal a ghost

The ghost entry says:

A ghost dwells on the Ethereal Plane and, as an ethereal creature, it cannot affect or be affected by anything in the material world.


A ghost has two home planes, the Material Plane and the Ethereal Plane.

So ghosts are Ethereal simply by virtue of living on the Ethereal Plane. A ghost could plane shift or gate from the Ethereal to the Material Plane and stop being Ethereal (or for that matter incorporeal, since it can no longer manifest - a ghost may only manifest from the Ethereal Plane, and is not incorporeal unless they manifest).


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .