I'm planning on creating an advanced Illusionist for a high level campaign. When reading through the rules for said school of wizardry, I came across this:
When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your turn as a bonus action while the spell is ongoing. The object remains real for 1 minute.
This seems ridiculously overpowered, even for a level 14+ character, given that one can combine it with the action of Minor Illusion, a cantrip, so the uses are near infinite. Is there a limit on the number of times this can be done?
For example, if a ceiling were falling, couldn't I just cast and recast all sorts of barriers and objects to stop its descent?
Can the spells combine, or is there an unexpected consequence or something entirely different? If there isn't, this campaign will be a breeze, which won't be nice for a one-shot (you can't keep treasure, so it has to be about the journey, not the reward).