How does one price the creation of magical armor with more than one ability with a fixed GP price?
The table in "Creating Magical Items" points you to Table 7-5 on page 217 of the DMG, which includes several prices for unique abilities.

When pricing, do you add the 50% price increase for "Creating Wondrous Items" as shown on DMG p.285?


Wondrous Items are things that aren't Weapons or Armor.

To calculate the cost of magic weapons or armor, you just add the costs listed.

  • First, add all the Enhancement Bonus-equivalent abilities to its actual enhancement bonus (must be +1 to +5) to get a total (max +10)
  • Look up the cost of that bonus on the appropriate table, and add it to the base cost of the weapon/armor (must be Masterwork, can be made of special materials)
  • Add any fixed-price ability costs

This will give the base cost, which will be the cost to buy it.
(If your character is crafting it themselves, the base cost is halved.)

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you, I also found a specific source stating what you say. Page. 217 on the DMG "Magic Armor and Shield Special Ability Descriptions" "Most magic armor and shields only have enhancement bonuses. Such items can also have one or more of the special abilities detailed below" \$\endgroup\$ – Simon Aug 19 '16 at 14:43
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also, look up the new rules for magic item creation in the MIC. It explicitly updated the DMG rules. \$\endgroup\$ – nijineko Aug 19 '16 at 16:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Simon: Also note that to apply an ability with an enhancement bonus cost, you need the weapon or armor to have an enhancement bonus of at least +1. You cannot for example apply Heavy Fortification (+5) and Freedom (+5) to an armor or shield, as you first need them to be +1 before being able to apply other enhancements (and +1+5+5 > +10). \$\endgroup\$ – Matthieu M. Aug 20 '16 at 16:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MatthieuM. Thank you, I was wondering about items that does not have a enhancment cost meassured in +1, +2 etc but those with a set gold price but thanks anyways! :) \$\endgroup\$ – Simon Aug 21 '16 at 1:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.