3
\$\begingroup\$

I'm reading through my (new) World of Darkness [which was rebranded to Chronicles of Darkness 1st Edition] core book re-learning how to play so I can start planning a campaign for my friends. I can't find an example of what happens when a 1 is a dramatic failure and an 8 to 10 is a success.

For example, if I roll 5 dice and get a 1, 3, 5, 8, 9, do I get 2 successes and a dramatic failure, or does the 1 counter a success giving me 1 success?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Are you sure that you are speaking about world-of-darkness (old), not Chronicles of Darkness? \$\endgroup\$ – Baskakov_Dmitriy Aug 21 '16 at 19:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ its the blue one, says world of darkness on the cover, goes with vampire the requim etc, wasn't aware they changed it to chronicles. \$\endgroup\$ – Sisco Aug 21 '16 at 19:50
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Requiem is nWoD, aka CoD. The dice system of WoD and CoD is not the same at all. now: 1st or 2nd Edition?aka: Pre or Post God Machine Chronicle? (I take pre) \$\endgroup\$ – Trish Aug 21 '16 at 19:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ an example given for rolling a 1 is your gun jams. But each success would result a point of damage. so by rolling 2 successes and a 1 do I get 2 points of damage and a jam, or 1 point of damage and no jam? the two rules for successes and dramatic failures don't explain what happens if you roll a dice pool and get both situations \$\endgroup\$ – Sisco Aug 21 '16 at 19:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ book-info.com/isbn/1-58846-484-9.htm this is the book i am using \$\endgroup\$ – Sisco Aug 21 '16 at 19:58
3
\$\begingroup\$

In the roll you've described, you'd end up with two successes, from the 8 and the 9 you rolled. The 1 has no effect, because you garnered successes on your roll. The only time that you get a dramatic failure under these rules is if penalties have reduced your die pool to zero or below (giving you a single "chance die" to roll) and that die comes up a one.

The rules summary on pages 32 and 33 should give you the basic idea.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.