6
\$\begingroup\$

Exactly as the name says, how does the morningstar work against say a skeleton which has DR 5/bludgeoning, since a morningstar is both bludgeoning AND piercing? I have looked online, and found some that say the DR applies because part is piercing, but I have also found some that say because the skeleton does not have DR against BOTH bludgeoning AND piercing, the DR doesn't apply. Really need to get this clarified, as I am about to literally take on endless waves of the undead.

\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

The morningstar will bypass their damage reduction.

From the PFSRD on Weapon Qualities (emphasis mine):

Type: Weapons are classified according to the type of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons. Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.

The morningstar deals both bludgeoning and piercing damage, and so bypasses DR/bludgeoning.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. I have found people quoting that, but also others quoting that any penalty applies to the whole, so thank you again for the clarification. \$\endgroup\$ – Pethrax Aug 24 '16 at 22:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Pethrax If you were taking a penalty it would apply to the whole. The emphasized section above says you don't take a penalty. \$\endgroup\$ – Oblivious Sage Aug 25 '16 at 1:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.