10
\$\begingroup\$

Does a wizard have to choose spells from their school? I understand scrolls or other methods could come in to play to learn specific spells through interaction with the world. But what are the requirements for new spells learned from gaining a level?

For instance I've just advanced to level six and I am an evocation wizard choosing two new spells. Can I choose from any spell from the wizard spell book or must it be an evocation spell?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't know for sure, but it sounds like previous editions were much less ambiguous. \$\endgroup\$
    – jorb
    Commented Aug 28, 2016 at 19:36
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Philipp Actually only 3.5rd edition allowed you to pick two prohibited schools. In 2nd edition and 3rd edition, each specialised school included a list of 1-3 other schools it forbade; In editions earlier than second, the eight schools hadn't yet been introduced. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Commented Aug 29, 2016 at 7:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Historical Note: Back in second edition, wizards only learned spells as part of gaining a level if they were specialised in a particular school, and the spells had to be from that school. The requirements for learning a new spell on level up changed drastically in subsequent editions. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMJoe
    Commented Aug 29, 2016 at 7:17

2 Answers 2

18
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can copy and learn spells from other schools.

From PHB 114.

Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you have spell slots and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.

And

Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher. Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells o f your choice to your spellbook. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots, as shown on the Wizard table.

As stated (or lack of), there is no limitation about schools in this edition.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

There are no restrictions on the spells you can select except it must be from the wizard list and must be a spell level that you can cast.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .