18
\$\begingroup\$

I would really love to play wizard/warlock multiclass with low charisma (just 13 for mutliclass). The handbook says that I can use Pact Magic slots to cast wizard spells, but doesn't specify which ability I use for spellcasting.

Pact Magic.
If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature, and [vice versa].

When I cast wizard spells using Pact Magic slots (or warlock spells using wizard's "Spellcasting" slots) do I use spellcasting ability of the slot, or do I get to choose?

\$\endgroup\$
30
\$\begingroup\$

You use the ability associated with the class you learned the spell from.

For example, charm person is on both the warlock and the wizard spell list. If you learned it when you took a level in warlock, then it counts as a warlock spell and uses your Charisma modifier. If you learned it when you took a level in wizard (or by finding a scroll or spellbook and copying it into your own book), you cast it using your Intelligence modifier because it counts as a wizard spell.

If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature,...[and] you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. (PHB, 164)

Charisma is your spellcasting ability for your warlock spells, so you use your Charisma whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a warlock spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one. (PHB, 107)

In other words, it is not the spell slot that restricts what ability score you use, it is the spell itself (or more importantly, how you learned it).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I think it would be useful to clarify directly addressing the question, by adding an extra line, saying something like: 'Which means that there are no restrictions RAW for the casting of spells using a specific slot.' \$\endgroup\$ – Ilya Donskikh Aug 30 '16 at 7:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that you can learn a spell multiple times to have access to casting it multiple ways. You probably don't want to spend warlock spells known on wizard spells you can already cast, but if you run into a scroll of a spell you know as a warlock there's not really much reason not to learn it as a wizard. \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Jun 28 '17 at 10:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ @thedarkwanderer Not unless there's a significant difference between your Charisma and Intelligence. As stated in the answer above, you can use either type of spell slot to cast spells from either class. \$\endgroup\$ – chif-ii Jun 28 '17 at 17:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ @chif-ii you can only learn a spell multiple times if there's a significant difference between your Charisma and Intelligence? You might want to include that in your answer, then, with support! I thought it was just generally only worth doing if you were a wizard and thus had no opportunity cost, but anyone could do it. \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Jun 28 '17 at 18:50
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @chif-ii Sure, but I never said there was much reason to do so in general. I merely pointed out that you could, and that doing so as a Warlock was a bad idea while doing so as a wizard lacked any serious negative consequences. \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Jun 30 '17 at 0:30
-4
\$\begingroup\$

Pact Magic. If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know.

This means you can cast both, warlock spells with wizard spell slots, and wizard spells with warlock spell slots, and you must use the Spellcasting ability of the chosen spell slot (Cha for warlock and Int for wizard).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ You use the spellcasting ability of which class you obtained the spell from, not the spellcasting ability of which spell slot you used. (The latter wouldn't work for, say, a cleric/wizard multiclass since there's no spell slot 'source' for multiclassed Spellcasters) \$\endgroup\$ – CTWind Nov 24 '16 at 19:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.