Some background.

I Recently leveled up my Weaponmaster to L7. I took the power "Come and Get It." It allows me to pull anything in a burst 3 up to 2 squares and then try to hit them with my giant sword. However, it stipulates that they have to end adjacent to me.

So here is my question:

Can I pull an enemy who is already adjacent to me into another square that is adjacent to me? The other night I was dragging a whole slew of critters towards me and trying to figure out how to get them all adjacent to me. I already had one in the top right corner, and there was one above that one. I was wondering if I could slide the one in the top right corner into the square immediately to my right and slide the other one into the space it left.

Could I have done this? I know they have to end up closer to me as its a pull, but can it go adjacent to adjacent?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I would shift away 1 square (to prevent an OA) and then do your ability. \$\endgroup\$
    – corsiKa
    Jun 27 '11 at 19:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Total - it was about attempting optimal positioning to suck in the most critters (there were about 10 or so in an area). I think I managed to get about 6 of them around me. It was kind of epic, especially when I activated Rain of Steel...:). I didn't have an action point, but my favorite L7 fighter nova is Come and get it + Sweeping Blow + Rain of Steel. Its a bit of waste of mass marking powers, but the DM's face when you take out 6 or 7 little guys is worth it. \$\endgroup\$
    – wax eagle
    Jun 27 '11 at 19:26

No. Each square of a pull most move them closer to you (just as each square of a push must move them further away). Holding distance is reserved for slides.

Pull: "Each square you move it must bring it nearer to you."

PHB: page 285

  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you have a page reference or link for this rule? \$\endgroup\$
    – gomad
    Jun 27 '11 at 15:33
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ Pull: "Each square you move it must bring it nearer to you." (PHB: page 285); Push: "each square you move it must place it farther away from you" (PHB: page 285); Slide: "no restriction on the direction you can move it" (PHB: page 285). \$\endgroup\$
    – AceCalhoon
    Jun 27 '11 at 15:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ I assume that based on most other rulings in 4e, no special significance is given to corner squares vs side squares. Is this correct? \$\endgroup\$
    – wax eagle
    Jun 27 '11 at 15:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ Correct - 4E makes no distinction between corner and side adjacency \$\endgroup\$ Jun 27 '11 at 16:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ I seem to vaguely remember a graphic which showed valid charges. That would be useful also for pulls and pushes. \$\endgroup\$
    – GMNoob
    Jun 27 '11 at 18:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.