If you multiclass correctly so you get expertise from both bard and rogue(e.g. Rogue 1 and Bard 3), and if in both classes you put the expertise into Deception, does it stack on an ability check?


The bard/rogue is proficient in Deception. With a 16 (+3) charisma at level 4 would the character get a +15 bonus to Deception rolls?


2 Answers 2


No, they specifically do not stack

From the basic rules:

Occasionally, your proficiency bonus might be multiplied or divided (doubled or halved, for example) before you apply it. For example, the rogue’s Expertise feature doubles the proficiency bonus for certain ability checks. If a circumstance suggests that your proficiency bonus applies more than once to the same roll, you still add it only once and multiply or divide it only once.

Emphasis mine. Even if you somehow took proficiency in the same skill twice (I believe the wording in the official PHB always says choose more or additional skills), it wouldn't apply because you can't benefit from a proficiency bonus more than once.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Loki If this solved your problem, or satisfactorily answered your question, please accept this answer by clicking on the check mark. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 8, 2016 at 19:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think this is the perfect answer for this question. I m assuming that if you gained Expertise from Rogue and Bard. you could choose different skills correct? I.e you get expertise twice but you cannot apply the expertise bonus twice? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 10, 2017 at 8:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MatthewPerryman Correct. With XGE and appropriate multi-classing, it's possible to get an absurd number of Expertise'd skills. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Commented Apr 16, 2018 at 15:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ +1 Helped me with another question. But if you could update, you can actually take proficiency in the same skill twice, at least this is what I argue here. Obviously this is a non intended hole in multiclassing that they probably didn't notice. \$\endgroup\$
    – HellSaint
    Commented Apr 17, 2018 at 0:27

So, expertise doubles you proficiency bonus, not the stat modifiers themselves. lets say you have a level 3 bard and you choose performance for one of your doubles, then when you perform, you get a +3 from your charisma (Ex.) and a +4 from your proficiency, which would normally be +2.

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This doesn't really add anything beyond the existing (and much up-voted) answer. It's also not worded terribly well. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Commented Apr 16, 2018 at 15:20

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .