How does the Defensive Rebuke crusader maneuver from the Tome of Battle trigger? Do I need to hit my enemy to trigger the effect, or does even rolling the attack dice and failing to touch the enemy apply the debuff?

What I'm unclear on is the meaning of “strike”:

Each enemy you strike after you initiate this maneuver…

Does “strike” means hitting and dealing damage? Or just making an attack?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Related—this use of the word “strike” is not unique to this maneuver. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Sep 12, 2016 at 0:15

2 Answers 2


The descriptive text says (Tome of Battle, p58)

...when your blows strike home...

and the rules text says 'strike' not 'attack', so RAW it's mostly clear that you have to hit, and RAI it's crystal clear; you have to hit the target.


There is a difference between strike (= hit) and strike at (= aim towards).

Striking the enemy means obtaining a success on the to hit roll.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .