9
\$\begingroup\$

How do ranged weapons work in a time stop? 5e Time Stop ends when I directly affect another creature. In other words, if I cast a spell that affects another creature or try to hit somebody with a melee weapon. How does this interact with ranged attacks? If I shoot an arrow or use a sling, will my missile keep going, or stop when it leaves my bow/sling? If I throw a bunch of knives, will they keep going and hit an enemy, breaking my Time Stop, or will they stop moving once they leave my hand and resume motion once the time has begun to move normally?

On a related note, if I were to use Creation in a Time Stop to drop a 5-foot cube of steel on top of an enemy's head, that would wait until normal time to actually fall on them, right? It wouldn't fall in stopped time and break it early, would it?

Why am I asking? No real reason, I just thought it might be nice to have this information.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Just a reminder that comments are not for providing answers. \$\endgroup\$ – keithcurtis Sep 19 '16 at 2:32
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Funny is fine here, until it interferes with clarity of the question: Not every reader can be assumed to get the reference required to make that sentence comprehensible. I've reverted it to standard English. Keep in mind that users submit questions, but the community owns and curates them for the benefit of future readers. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Sep 19 '16 at 14:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ To explain SevenSidedDie's comment: I originally wrote the word "reason" in the OP as "wryyyson" ("wryyy" is pronounced "uriii"), as a reference to the manga/anime series "JoJo's Bizarre Adventure". In it, the vampire Dio Brando uses his power over time to throw knives at, and later drop a steamroller on, protagonist Jotaro Kujo. I included the last line of the OP entirely to make that joke, so I changed it back. Clearly I was asking for a reason, specifically I wanted to see if this stunt would work without the DM bending the rules. These two comments are the result of a minor edit war. \$\endgroup\$ – VHS Sep 20 '16 at 1:10
9
\$\begingroup\$

No, the only thing frozen in time are "Creatures"

You briefly stop the flow of time for everyone but yourself. No time passes for other creatures, while you take 1d4 + 1 turns in a row, during which you can use actions and move as normal. ...

Spells, arrows, weapons, objects, as well as the environment itself is not frozen in time and all of these will be affected by gravity and the passage of time as normal. Specifically, a summoned steel cube will immediately fall and crush anyone underneath it, ending Time Stop.

Now if you were to summon a creature over an enemies head, that would be time stopped, and possibly would work as intended.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah. I retract my answer then. I thought objects were also affected \$\endgroup\$ – Nemenia Sep 19 '16 at 16:58
15
\$\begingroup\$

The specific text of the spell is:

This spell ends if one of the actions you use during this period, or any effects that you create during this period, affects a creature other than you or an object being worn or carried by someone other than you.

You and your actions are not time-stopped. Shooting a ranged weapon or creating an anvil over the head of an opponent would qualify as affecting a creature other than you and therefore end the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

A ranged attack, yes. The steel cube? Maybe not so much.

In the elemental evil campaign (spoilers) you meet a peaceful lich, and if you attempt to attack him, he uses time stop and cloud kill before leaving the room. Cloudkill is a harmful spell and will obviously harm the players, but In the book is completely within RAW.

Why? It didn't directly affect the PCs yet, and won't until time starts. While an attack is directly affecting someone, summoning a New object won't, even if it's threatening.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Side note: The Lich is a valuable ally and you should not anger him :o \$\endgroup\$ – Premier Bromanov Sep 19 '16 at 16:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Your answer seems to to be different from Orvir's mostly based on a difference in opinion on what a summoned object will do. Do you have any evidence that a summoned object will be time-stopped when it appears? \$\endgroup\$ – Jonathon Sep 19 '16 at 16:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @JonathonWisnoski the summoned object in question has rules that explicitly state it only effects the players on their turn. Slight difference there from a steel cube, which could reasonably be expected to fall. Or to put it another way: the poison cloud isn't going to do anything to you until you start breathing it. Even skin contact isn't going to do much until your circulation starts up again, at which point you'll start absorbing it through your skin again. \$\endgroup\$ – RonLugge Sep 20 '16 at 16:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.