1
\$\begingroup\$

How do prepared casters like clerics and wizards use the metamagic rods?

  • Are they only able to use the rod during the actual act of casting the spell?
  • Are they able to use the rod when preparing spells so that their spell is prepared as the metamagic'ed version?
  • Both are valid methods?
\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Only the first option is valid: Having the metamagic rod does nothing while preparing spells. They are only effective if the caster is holding the rod while casting the spell.

From d20pfsrd:

Metamagic rods hold the essence of a metamagic feat, allowing the user to apply metamagic effects to spells (but not spell-like abilities ) as they are cast.

Emphasis mine.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I was afraid of that, ok. Ideally both was what I had been hoping for. \$\endgroup\$ – Fering Sep 19 '16 at 0:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.