2
\$\begingroup\$

I have a specific scenario which I need clarification on. I want to cast a spell like sanctuary which can benefit from being in a higher spell slot with heighten spell and also from extend spell. Not using any rods.

So doing this with just the metamagic feats turns the spell into spell level (+1) + extend spell (+2) and heighten spell (+1). The spell is now a 4th level spell and lasts 2 rounds / CL.

But lets say I wanted to make this into a 2nd or 3rd level spell using heighten spell but the effect from Blessing of Fervor.

  • Spontaneous Caster: Am I allowed to apply the extended effect from Fervor and then heighten the spell without removing the extended effect?
  • Prepared Caster: Despite the spell having already been heightened, is the effect from Fervor allowed on the spell?

Blessing of Fervor

Cast a single spell of 2nd level or lower as if it were an enlarged, extended, silent, or still spell.

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

6
\$\begingroup\$

No to both questions.

A spontaneous caster still has to apply all Metamagic before casting a spell and Blessing of Fervor takes place once you cast so the level of the spell that you are casting must be 2nd or lower after applying all Metamagic.

For a prepared caster the answer is even simpler. If the spell takes up a higher spell slot than 2nd level it cannot use Blessing of Fervor.

\$\endgroup\$
-3
\$\begingroup\$

No, you can't, for many reasons:

  • the reasons GreedyRadish explained.

  • because you are trying to apply metamagic to a spell-like. Only real spells can benefit from metamagic, not spell-likes.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Which exactly is the spell-like ability? \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Commented Sep 19, 2016 at 11:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ In the question: "I want to cast a spell like sanctuary(...)" \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 20, 2016 at 8:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ I believe there is a comma missing there. \$\endgroup\$
    – ShadowKras
    Commented Sep 20, 2016 at 11:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hum, you can be right. Anyway the answer to the question is still a big "No". \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 21, 2016 at 9:44

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .