14
\$\begingroup\$

For the Mounted Combatant the PHB 168 says that the mounted character can redirect the attack to himself rather than the mount. Does this need to be declared before or after the attack roll/dmg roll?

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead.

Choosing a target is the first step of the Attack action and it happens before any roll (see PHB p. 194). Therefore, this needs to be declared before the attack roll.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.