If you are a Summoner and you dip into another class, do you still get to rearrange the evo points on the eidolon?

The summoner can change them whenever he gains a level (and through the transmogrify spell).

As it doesn't specifically say "whenever he gains a summoner level", this looks to me like it should happen on any level up, but some clarification/rules examples would be nice.



From the Summoner page:

[evolution points] are set until he gains another level of summoner.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Good catch. I didn't see that. I was only looking at the Eidolons page. \$\endgroup\$ – BRW Sep 23 '16 at 14:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Wayne No worries. Happens to the best of us. It would be nice if Pathfinder had more consistent wording throughout their material. \$\endgroup\$ – GreedyRadish Sep 23 '16 at 14:54

No it clearly states otherwise in the rules as written. "Whenever the summoner gains a level, he must decide how these points are spent, and they are set until he gains another level of summoner." It's generally held to be a very bad idea to take another class level as a Summoner. Everything is based off your summoner level, and most of your cool advantages like casting spells with a range of self on your eidolon or wearing light armor only work with summoner spells.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.