15
\$\begingroup\$

How exactly does copying a spell into a ritual spell book work with regards to the ritual casting feat? Does it use the spell scroll in the process? I know copying a scroll destroys it if you copy it into a wizard spell book — does that apply here?

\$\endgroup\$
26
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, spell scrolls are always destroyed by copying. From the DMG entry on spell scrolls, page 200:

When a spell is copied from a spell scroll, the copier must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 + the spell’s level. If the check succeeds, the spell is successfully copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll is destroyed.

(Emphasis mine.)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.