3
\$\begingroup\$

Say I am fighting a zombie with an oracle. I have a sword in one hand and have Cure Light Wounds in the other. Can I strike the Zombie with the sword then touch them with the Cure Light Wounds spell as a full round attack if I get 2 attacks as a full round action or do I lose the spell if I strike with the sword first?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, this works.

It is not possible to apply the effects of your held spell using a weapon unless you have a suitable class feature such as the Spellstrike ability from the Magus. There is no risk of the spell being lost just because you struck an opponent with the sword.

Further, touch spells can be held as long as you like until they are discharged or you cast another spell.

If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.

Whilst you are holding a spell charge any touch attacks made to apply the spell are considered to be armed. therefore you are currently considered to be armed with both hands.

Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

In the FAQ it is stated that you can make iterative attacks with different weapons without incurring any two weapon fighting penalties.

If I have extra attacks from a high BAB, can I make attacks with different weapons and not incur a two-weapon fighting penalty?

Yes. Basically, you only incur TWF penalties if you are trying to get an extra attack per round.

Therefore it is completely reasonable to use one hand to deliver the touch spell and the other to attack with a sword in the same full round provided you normally have two attacks.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I totally agree that this makes sense. Yes, a dude can, while wielding a longsword one-handed, cast with his empty hand cure light wounds then next round make a full attack that's first at his full base attack bonus with the longsword then at his base attack bonus −5 using the cure light wounds spell. However, the GM must agree that the things the caster is already touching (like the longsword) don't immediately blow the touch spell's charge. Yes, that is dumb, but there must be a reason for this FAQ entry. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 1 '16 at 13:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan I disagree that the accidental discharge rule should ever be brought up in any situation. It was and is a terrible idea best ignored. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Oct 1 '16 at 14:44
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan I know, I know. We've discussed this. :-) Maybe you should pose a question and answer it so folks can clearly understand why? It'd make an awfully convenient link for questions like this. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 1 '16 at 14:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.