Two people who DM for me say that the Hunter Conclave Ranger's Volley, gained at 11th level, can't be used with thrown weapons, since they don't have ammunition. Can't it be done? Can't you just count the number of throwing weapons you have as the ammunition?


Strictly RAW: Your DMs are correct. Thrown weapons do not have ammunition.

Personally, I'd consider whether multiple thrown weapons can be used in situations such as this or Horde Breaker to be strictly in the DM's prerogative. It makes a fair amount of sense that a character could be good enough with throwing knives to put multiple in the air in 6 seconds. On the other hand, it's pretty crazy to think that someone can throw multiple spears in 6 seconds, considering the windup you'd need to throw them.

Another "RAW" point against it is that drawing a weapon is a free action. Despite it being "free" you only get one a turn. So even if you could throw multiple knives or spears, you're violating the free action rule by drawing more than one.

In conclusion, your DMs make the rules of your game, and they've ruled that thrown weapons cannot be used in the way you're suggesting. Nothing in the rules disagrees with them. The best course of action is to talk to the DMs and explain why you want to throw multiple weapons, and listen to their reasons for disagreeing.

  • \$\begingroup\$ +1 for mentioning drawing the weapons. Though it might be worth mentioning that the character can quite easily be holding one knife in one hand and another five knives in the other hand, which can't be slower than someone grabbing an arrow from his quiver. \$\endgroup\$ – Patrick vD Oct 5 '16 at 15:57
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Drawing a weapon isn't a free action, it's an interaction with an object. The rules state that each player gets one free object interaction per turn. There are no free actions in 5e. The distinction between the free object interaction, and a "free action," is an important one because "free action" is game rule terminology in other systems and earlier editions. \$\endgroup\$ – LegendaryDude Oct 5 '16 at 22:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.