The Fighter archetype "Champion" lists the skills "Improved Critical" and "Superior Critical", which state that my weapon attacks score a critical hit on natural 19-20 and natural 18-20, respectively. The description for either of these abilities don't explicitly state whether these attacks have the autohit properties of a natural 20 or not, though they could be interpreted to mean that. Given a single level 3 Champion fighter with no active magical effects fighting an enemy with infinite AC, would that fighter have a 5% chance to hit (nat 20 only), or a 10% chance to hit (nat 19+20)?


2 Answers 2


No, for the fighter with Improved Critical a 19 is an auto-hit.

According to a tweet by Crawford a 19 (or 18) for a character with the Improved Critical feature is an automatic hit.


  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Wow, I would not have ruled that way. I would have hoped that would make it into the Sage Advice Compendium by now. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 7, 2016 at 22:12
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Well, I guess it doesn't get much more official than the lead designer of the PHB. \$\endgroup\$
    – VHS
    Oct 7, 2016 at 23:10

I found this question from a few months ago. It answers the question you have.

Apparently I have been playing DnD wrong when it comes to critical hits.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That reference is for the 4th edition, isn't it? I don't think it is a valid reference since he is tagging the 5th edition. \$\endgroup\$
    – Chepelink
    Oct 7, 2016 at 21:43

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .