6
\$\begingroup\$

I want to introduce my group to a Large creature that uses a bow. Does this Large creature's Large bow have a longer range than the typical bow?

Does an official rule cover this, or must I make a house rule?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
  • \$\begingroup\$ If you're looking for a "fair" rule on how to modify range, maybe reference the [Space, Reach, & Threatened Area Templates](vhttp://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat/space-reach-threatened-area-templates), where the Typical Height/Lenght column will allow you to compare size categories in a relevant matter. For example, a large creature is about twice as big as a medium one, so their range could be twice as high. Though if you create a Colossal enemy (16 times as large as a medium character), they could snipe your group from quite a distance - long before you could do anything about it. \$\endgroup\$ – TheThirdMan Oct 11 '16 at 14:00
6
\$\begingroup\$

In Pathfinder, ranged weapon range is not affected by weapon size. While it is difficult to conclusively confirm this, a search of the Equipment section in the core rulebook reveals that the section on weapon size makes no statements regarding adjusting range or range increments.

As Hey I Can Chan mentioned, this was a rule in D&D 3.0 (and since Pathfinder is based on 3.5, it was never a part of Pathfinder).

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you for the answer. Anyway, would you make a rule for this specific situation ? \$\endgroup\$ – Binochio Oct 11 '16 at 13:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Binochio If you want to make a house-rule to add this back in, check out the link in Hey I Can Chan's comment to your question above. In D&D3.0, increasing or decreasing the size of a weapon changed its range increment by 25% for each size change away from medium. \$\endgroup\$ – Cellion Oct 11 '16 at 13:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.