31
\$\begingroup\$

In D&D 5e, if a wizard of the divination school uses Portent on a legendary monster to assign it a failing saving throw, can the legendary monster use their legendary resistance to choose to pass the saving throw anyway?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Please take a look through the tour when you get the chance. This looks like a good first question, and I'm looking forward to the answers. \$\endgroup\$ – UrhoKarila Oct 14 '16 at 15:08
26
\$\begingroup\$

Excellent question. Yes the legendary creature can still force a success.

How this works is portent needs to make the Legendary creature use the roll from itself before the roll is actually made, thus giving them a failing saving throw immediately. The legendary creature would then uses their legendary resistance which takes place after the roll is made and results determined, declaring the save a success as a replacement effect.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Yes, it all adds to the timing of the events. Portent is used at the dice roll. LR is activated after the result is known. So the phases do not match. 5e resembles MtG more and more. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Oct 14 '16 at 18:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Well they've been doing that a lot longer, so it kind of creeps in. \$\endgroup\$ – Nelson Oct 15 '16 at 5:17
32
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. The Legendary Resistance ability is phrased as "If the [creature] fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead." This doesn't specify anything about whether the saving throw was from a physical dice roll or some other source, just that it can be used to prevent a failed saving throw.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.