10
\$\begingroup\$

Since Fog Cloud requires an Action and Misty Step a Bonus Action, you could cast them both in then same turn.

My questions is whether you can use Fog Cloud centered where you are and Misty Step to flee from there, so your enemies can't see where you step into.

Question arises because Misty Step says that you teleport somewhere you can see.

If it's not possible, would there be any way to do the same effect using this two spells? (teleporting but not letting enemies know where thanks to the Fog Cloud).

\$\endgroup\$
1

4 Answers 4

41
\$\begingroup\$

This doesn't work. To start with, you can't cast a bonus action spell and another leveled spell in the same turn.

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

Secondly, the Fog Cloud spell makes an area heavily obscured.

A heavily obscured area—such as darkness, opaque fog, or dense foliage—blocks vision entirely. A creature effectively suffers from the blinded condition (see appendix A) when trying to see something in that area.

In case the blinded condition needs explaining,:

A blinded creature can’t see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight.

Misty Step lets you teleport to somewhere you can see - you can't see anything if you're in a Fog Cloud, so you can't use Misty Step at all.

Thirdly, it doesn't matter whether enemies can see where you teleport from. You want to hide the location you're teleporting to, so this is all pointless anyway.

\$\endgroup\$
6
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ +1 for pointing out the obvious reasons (blinded condition) but also that you want to hide where you teleport TO, not FROM. So many people also forget or have no idea that you can't cast two non cantrip spells in the same turn, no matter if one of them takes a Bonus action or not. \$\endgroup\$
    – Airatome
    Oct 19, 2016 at 17:36
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ @Airatome This is a bit nitpicky but it can come up: the restriction is on casting anything but a cantrip with a casting time of one action on the same turn you cast a bonus action speld. An Eldritch Knight can cast two spells with a casting time of 1 action using Action Surge. \$\endgroup\$
    – Doval
    Oct 19, 2016 at 18:58
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Why do you say "you can't see anything if you're in a Fog Cloud"? The quote contradicts this: "A creature effectively suffers from the blinded condition when trying to see something in that area", not "when it is in that area". \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    May 30, 2017 at 18:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor the actual wording is "its area is Heavily Obscured" and the definition of Heavily Obscured is "A creature in a heavily obscured area effectively suffers from the blinded condition." with a specific callout that it "blocks vision entirely." You cannot see into, out of, within, or through a Fog Cloud spell. \$\endgroup\$ May 30, 2017 at 18:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @enkyrptor Correct, but as it says "A heavily obscured area doesn’t blind you, but you are effectively blinded when you try to see something obscured by it." (Emphasis Mine). If you are in a Fog Cloud, everything you try to see is obscured by the Heavy Obscuration of the Fog Cloud, because it entirely surrounds you. It blocks line of sight. In short...you cannot see through Heavy Obscuration. If there's a massive fog bank between you and your friend...you can't just magically see your friend since he's not actually in the fog bank. the fog bank blocks your line of sight. \$\endgroup\$ May 30, 2017 at 18:30
5
\$\begingroup\$

You can't use Misty Step inside the Fog Cloud because Misty Step requires that you be able to see your destination.

...to an unoccupied space that you can see. PHB page 280

The rules for spell casting also indicate that you cannot cast anything but a cantrip in the same round that you cast a spell.

You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. PHB page 201

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

It is not possible as stated because you cannot cast two leveled spells in the same round.

You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. PHB page 201

That said, there is a way to achieve something close to what you want though - Minor Illusion is a cantrip that can create a 5' cube "image of an object." Create a boulder or box that you can crouch in, then you can misty step away out of it - because you can see through your own illusions as you know them to be false.

If a creature discerns the illusion for what it is, the illusion becomes faint to the creature. PHB page 260

\$\endgroup\$
-1
\$\begingroup\$

Assuming you're outside or in a room big enough, you could cast levitate on you before everything (even better have some cast it on you). You move to your spot and cast fog cloud and then you can use your movement to go up (as you are under levitate) and when out of the fog cloud use misty step. But fog cloud has a pretty good range, so I see very few situations where going to all this trouble would make sense instead of just casting fog cloud on point that you are out of it.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE. Please take the tour and visit the help center to see how a Q&A site works. A key is to answer the question as asked. Your answer needs to more clearly spell out how you can accomplish all of that in the same round. (If possible) A supported answer relies on more than "a neat idea" so supporting this answer with sources, or how a ruling was arrived at when playing at your table, will improve you answer. Also, identify what is and isn't possible, per the last paragraph of the question. Again, welcome, and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ May 30, 2017 at 18:18

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .