1
\$\begingroup\$

The far-reaching sight is a magical upgrade for two-handed firearms that allows to snipe from afar :

A firearm wielder can choose to spend a full-round action to make a single shot with a firearm that has this sight. When she does, she can resolve the attack against the touch AC of her target regardless of the range increment.

Does this mean feats such as Vital Strike that apply to standard attack actions cannot be used in conjunction with this upgrade ?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

They cannot be used together.

As you stated, from Vital Strike:

When you use the attack action

The attack action is a specific type of action:

Attack Action: An attack action is a type of standard action. Some combat options can modify only this specific sort of action. When taking an attack action, you can apply all appropriate options that modify an attack action.

Because the single shot with a firearm is a full-round action, they cannot be used together. For them to function together, the shot would need to modify the attack action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ A great example of this is Vital Strike and Cleave. Cleave is a special type of attack, not an attack action, so they cannot be used together (even though they are both standard actions that attack). \$\endgroup\$ – WeirdFrog Oct 20 '16 at 20:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy