5
\$\begingroup\$

Recently I've been reading up on the Pathfinder Slayer, and the Blood Reader talent fascinates me. It states that I can determine the remaining hit points of any living enemy, but it does not work on creatures that are not alive. Now, enemies such as Elementals who lack organs, do not bleed, and sometimes even lack a tangible form. They lack all of the hallmarks of life, except for mobility. So, in general, are Elementals and other extraplanars considered living creatures for Pathfinder?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Closely related: What being a living creature means in Pathfinder and 3.5e. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 25 '16 at 14:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do you really want answers for every edition all the way back to white box D&D or do you really mean "Pathfinder and D&D 3.x"? \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Oct 25 '16 at 14:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie Removed the DnD tag and question for clarification \$\endgroup\$ – Tobias Fizzlewig Oct 25 '16 at 14:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ Blood Biography is a spell - did you perhaps mean the Slayer's talent Blood Reader? The spell won't work on elementals as it explicitly targets "one creature's blood or one bloodstain" - the talent should work on them as it simply targets 'living creatures' - the mention of blood in its name is just a cooler sounding title... \$\endgroup\$ – G0BLiN Oct 25 '16 at 16:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ @G0BLiN Blood reader is correct, I edited it so the correct ability is shown. \$\endgroup\$ – Tobias Fizzlewig Oct 25 '16 at 23:03
12
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, they are alive.

Generally speaking everything that has a constitution score is considered "alive", unless otherwise noted. It is also confirmed by the outsider creature type description, and a previous answer.

Unlike most living creatures, an outsider does not have a dual nature

There are, in general, only two creature types that are considered non-living: Constructs and undead.

PS: Other systems may have differences on this, as my answer is based upon Pathfinder and D&D 3.x

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.