For a character with hit dice that is adding its first character level, does it get a feat at first character level or its next odd hit dice?

For example a bugbear becomes a bugbear barbarian 1. Will it gain a feat?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I wonder if the Advanced Race Guide due out next year will provide more clarification? I thought there was some discussion in the core about playing non-standard races (although not sure about races with extra HD) \$\endgroup\$
    – mirv120
    Commented Jul 14, 2011 at 16:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @mirv120 There is, but it's pretty "loose" around races with HD. Pretty easy for races without actually... \$\endgroup\$
    – C. Ross
    Commented Jul 14, 2011 at 16:47

2 Answers 2


In the D20 core, Monster HD are a class level.

Feats come from three sources: Every odd character level, class-specific feats (called Class Features), and sometimes a racial feat or two.

So, the class-specific fighter feat at level 1 is at CLASS level 1.

The feats in the monster description usually include racial and character level.

EG: A 4 HD Centaur is a 4th level character; make him a level 1 fighter, and he is now a 4HD centaur (with the racial feats), 1st level fighter (with the level 1 feats for that), and 5th level character (with the level 5 feats).

For a 3HD monster, he gets his ever odd character level feat when he gains 2 class levels. He gains his 1st level class-features at level in that class.

From what I recall from the beta, that hadn't changed.


In Pathfinder, monster PCs have no special rules - they get all benefits of PC class levels including the usual feats per level. The PRD doesn't speak to this (and old d20 stuff is never carried over without comment into Pathfinder) and note that chargen software like PCGen have implemented it this way.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .