If I use an Amulet of Mighty Fists to give Spell Storing to the natural weapons granted by the Dragon Shaman's Totem Transformation ability, when the natural weapons go away, do they retain the spells I cast on them or do the spells disappear when the natural weapons do?

I can see it going both ways, since you still have your teeth and nails.

(Please assume that the amulet "gives" the enchantment to your natural weapons, rather than having an enchantment that applies to the natural weapons, meaning that spell storing would be instanced by each natural weapon)


1 Answer 1


The Spell Storing is not linked to a specific natural weapon.

From the Amulet of Mighty Fists:

This amulet grants an enhancement bonus of +1 to +5 on attack and damage rolls with unarmed attacks and natural weapons. Alternatively, this amulet can grant melee weapon special abilities, so long as they can be applied to unarmed attacks.

The above text implies that the bonuses and special abilities apply to any and all unarmed attacks and natural weapons you possess. Because it applies to all natural attacks, when you store a spell in an amulet with the Spell Storing ability, it isn't linked to a specific natural weapon; the spell can be discharged with any attack the Amulet enhances.

So if you store a spell, you can discharge the spell with an unarmed strike or from any other natural weapon you possess. If you lose a natural weapon, the spell is still stored in the Amulet, and will remain there until you choose to discharge it (with a different natural weapon, or the same one after you reacquire it). The important part is that the spell is stored in the Amulet itself.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That would be a reasonable house-rule, but I don't see how it at all follows from the text you quote. \$\endgroup\$
    – Topquark
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 4:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @topquark If you put Flaming on the amulet instead of Spell Storing, it applies to every natural weapon you possess. Why should Spell Storing function any differently? \$\endgroup\$
    – WeirdFrog
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 13:02
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The question is about a distinction that's irrelevant for Flaming and most other weapon abilities, so that analogy doesn't help answer it. (And it's likewise understandable that the author of the amulet might not have thought of this edge case.) The distinction is: Either each natural weapon gets an independent instance of Spell Storing (and can each store a separate spell), or you have only one instance of Spell Storing that simultaneously applies to all of your natural weapons (and can only store one spell total). \$\endgroup\$
    – Topquark
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 14:54
  • \$\begingroup\$ There's no precedent for an item ability to be duplicated over multiple weapon faces. An imperfect comparison (hence I didn't mention it in the answer) is a double weapon. You can attack with both sides of the weapon, but it's treated as one magic item with one set of item abilities shared by both sides (this was changed from D&D 3.5, when each side of the weapon was made magical separately). There's no reason the amulet would work any differently. It's one item, and the ability is shared over multiple attacks of the same creature. But it's an imperfect comparison, so it isn't in the answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – WeirdFrog
    Commented Oct 31, 2016 at 15:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ @topquark Considering it doesn't mention the ability to provide different special abilities to different natural weapons and that all natural weapons benefit from the special abilities I'm inclined to believe that it's a passive enchant to all natural weapons you possess. As such we either have to accept that, if you have more than one natural weapon, then you can store more than one spell. Though there is no real rule-based precedent for it with this in mind I'm inclined to agree with WeirdFrog that all natural weapons should be considered one natural weapon for effects from the amulet \$\endgroup\$
    – Cyberspark
    Commented Nov 1, 2016 at 9:52

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .