In the Sorcerer's Wild Magic Surge table in the 5e PHB, one of the possible results reads

For the next minute, any flammable object you touch that isn't being worn or carried by another creature bursts into flame.

Given that anything the sorcerer is carrying is not being carried or worn by another creature, does this likely mean that the sorcerer's possessions burst into flames? What if after all of the sorcerer's possessions are burned up the sorcerer comes into contact with his/her own skin?


RAW - Yes

As you wrote, the sorcerer is not another creature, so this effect must apply to objects he carries/wears.

RAI - No

It is probably meant to burn any object not carried or worn by any creature. I don't see why this effect should be different for the sorcerer.

Either way, his skin won't burn, because it is not an object, but a creature, and creatures are not affected by this effect.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you explain to me what RAW and RAI mean? I'm not familiar with these acronyms. \$\endgroup\$ – flyingace Nov 1 '16 at 19:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ RAW = Rules As Written, and RAI = Rules As Intended \$\endgroup\$ – Yotus Nov 2 '16 at 7:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.