32
\$\begingroup\$

As the title says: Is a 1st-level spell cast using a 4th-level slot a 1st-level spell, or a 4th-level spell?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Gonna show this to my group the next time they say that their Dispel Magic should've automatically ended a spell ordinarily of a lower level that was cast at a higher slot \$\endgroup\$ – Tophandour Nov 2 '16 at 17:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Tophandour just remember this was not the case in 3.5 - they have a reason to think what they think. It may be a habit, not ignorance or neglect. \$\endgroup\$ – Mołot Nov 3 '16 at 11:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Right. We still have a couple things of that sort floating around that we're trying to get rid of. \$\endgroup\$ – Tophandour Nov 3 '16 at 11:29
61
\$\begingroup\$

The spell is a 4th level spell. (PHB, p.201)

Casting a Spell at a Higher Level

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is there any difference between a spell that "can" be casted as higher level (for extra damage, more targets, etc) with a spell that you cast using a higher slot? I mean, you can use your level 9 slot to cast a level 1 spell that it will not be more powerful for doing this. When it comes to Dispel o Counter for example, is this the same thing, right? \$\endgroup\$ – Kelhendros Nov 8 '16 at 19:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Kelhendros Any spell can be cast using a higher level slot, and some spells gain specific benefits from it. \$\endgroup\$ – Miniman Nov 8 '16 at 21:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Actually only any spell that uses a slot can be cast using a higher level. And only some of those gain benefit from it. You can't up cast cantrips or spells from items.. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Jan 23 '18 at 1:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ However they would still get the additional protection from Dispel Magic and Counterspell for having used the higher level slot. \$\endgroup\$ – illustro Mar 28 at 10:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @illustro Though upcasting does not penetrate Globe of Invulnerability, strangely enough. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Mar 29 at 13:04
33
\$\begingroup\$

4th.

PHB Page 201 says

When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.