15
\$\begingroup\$

A wizard uses polymorph to become a Giant Ape. The ape takes damage, but the damage does not spill over into the wizard's hit points. Can this damage break concentration (if they fail the DC 10 or half-damage constitution saving throw)?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @Momonga-sama Read this post on how answering your own question is explicity encouraged. \$\endgroup\$ – Ladifas Nov 3 '16 at 19:14
20
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

From concentration (PHB 203):

Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must take a constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration.

Emphasis mine

Given that, while polymorphed, the wizard is the ape, damage taken by the ape counts under "whenever you take damage". Thus, the wizard must take a constitution save to maintain concentration (with the ape's constitution modifier).

Being polymorphed does not break concentration.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.