4
\$\begingroup\$

The mythic power Infectious Spell has this qualification

Whenever you cast a spell that specifically targets a limited number of targets (such as “one creature/level” or “one or more creatures”) and has a duration longer than 1 round, you can expend one use of mythic power to make the spell infectious.

Do spells that specifically target only "one creature" count as a "limited number of targets"?

For examples, consider Hold Person ("One humanoid creature") — would it be a valid spell for Infectious Spell?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

While the archmage 3rd tier mythic path ability infectious spell does, in fact, list only as examples of spells having a limited number of targets those spells targeting one creature/level and those spells targeting one or more creatures, because one or more creatures includes targeting only one creature, a spell that only targets one creature should also be a limited number of targets for the purposes of the special ability. (And this abrupt 2015 thread—the only one I could find on the subject—agrees.)

The effect seems to function as printed even if only a lone target is affected, making the spell hold person a fine choice for an infectious spell.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.