12
\$\begingroup\$

I am wondering about the wording here. On PHB p. 75, the description of the Eldritch Knight fighter's War Magic feature says:

When you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action.

I feel like the wording would have to be "you can take an Attack action as a bonus action" to have access to multiple attacks. But the current wording doesn't so I read this as not allowing multiple attacks.

Am I right, or does War Magic allow the Eldritch Knight to benefit from the "Extra Attack" feature too?

\$\endgroup\$
31
\$\begingroup\$

No

War Magic gives you one weapon attack as a bonus action.

Extra Attack can be used when you use the Attack action.

The two are completely and deliberately different.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.