9
\$\begingroup\$

Question being raised due to the Blood Hunter's armor proficiency, which has light + medium armor but no shields.

My question is: If a class already has proficiency for something built-in, can they still take the feat for it? i.e. Could a Blood Hunter take Moderately Armored and end up with shield proficiency?

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, quite simply because nothing says you cannot. The rules for feats say you can (generally) only take each once, but the blood hunter doesn’t have the Moderately Armored feat, it just has proficiency in medium armor. And the Moderately Armored feat doesn’t specify that it has a requirement of not already having medium armor proficiency.

You may be interested in this related question about medium armor proficiency without shield proficiency.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.