2
\$\begingroup\$

When I my Barbarian flies into a rage he gains amongst other things +4 morale bonus to Strength. Does this affect the modifier too?

My strength is 18STR+MOD4

If I add the morale bonus is it 22STR+MOD4 or 22STR+MOD6?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Part of the issue here may come from the game's vocabulary: a bonus is different from an ability score modifier, for instance. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Nov 20 '16 at 14:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ I feel like you're mixing scores and modifiers; your Strength wouldn't be 18+Mod4, it should be interpreted as 18 (4), where 18 is the score and 4 is how much it affects related rolls (the mod is always == SCORE-10 // 2, no matter what. There is no such thing as 22Str with a mod of 4). Any modifier is based on the score and derived from the score, there is no concept of changing the modifier directly. \$\endgroup\$ – Delioth Nov 21 '16 at 18:46
8
\$\begingroup\$

A barbarian's rage grants the barbarian bonuses to the barbarian's ability scores, not directly to the barbarian's ability score modifiers.

For example, a barbarian that normally possesses a Strength of 18 enters a rage, gaining a +4 morale bonus to his Strength score. Normally, such a barbarian's Strength modifier is +4 (for having Str 18) but while in that rage the barbarian's Strength modifier is +6 (for having Str 22).

Note: Don't feel hemmed in by the ability score bonuses from rage being merely Temporary Ability Score Bonuses. This FAQ entry (from a 2013 messageboard post by Pathfinder Design Team) clarifies that items listed as changed by temporary ability score bonuses are to ease bookkeeping rather than a finite list of changes.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Comments are not for extended discussion; this conversation has been moved to chat. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk Nov 21 '16 at 17:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.