2
\$\begingroup\$

The 8th-level Sor/Wiz spell last judgment [necro] (Book of Exalted Deeds 102) has the component celestial, meaning that "[t]he caster must be an outsider with the good subtype to cast this spell" (89).

What's the cheapest, easiest, and most convenient way to meet this component's requirement without constantly actually being an outsider with the good subtype?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you explain a bit more? Do you have problems understanding the spell, or do you have a certain character in mind that's looking for a way to cast it? \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Nov 22 '16 at 14:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ I edited your question. I hope it's still asking what you want to ask. If not, feel free to edit it further. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Nov 22 '16 at 14:14
4
\$\begingroup\$

The easiest way for a non-outsider non-good-subtype cleric to cast the 8th-level Sor/Wiz spell last judgment [necro] (Book of Exalted Deeds 102) is likely by first casting the 4th-level Clr spell lesser holy transformation [trans] (Spell Compendium 116) that for 1 round/level changes the caster into a protectar (Miniatures Handbook 66) and, in addition to other effects, the caster's "creature type changes to outsider (good)."

Other methods—like levels in a prestige class that changes the potential caster's type and subtypes like 5 levels of divine disciple (Player's Guide to Faerûn 51-2) or 10 levels (and no spellcasting!) of incandescent champion (Magic of Incarnum 115-21), or, instead, just wholesale becoming a bariaur (Book of Exalted Deeds 165-7) using the Ritual of Vitality (Savage Species 150)—are usually changes persisting forever. Other spells can temporarily change the subject's type to outsider but don't add the subtype good.

For a non-outsider wizard or sorcerer lacking the good subtype, creating or commissioning a custom staff of last judgment (DMG 287) (300 gp +1,800 gp/charge; 4 lbs.) is likely the easiest way to cast the spell, the spell's components probably subsumed in the staff's creation. Ask first, though, as a DM may rule that a creature wishing to cast the spell last judgment from a staff must still be an outsider with the good subtype, the effects of the celestial component on magic items being, of course, unmentioned by the Dungeon Master's Guide. (Instead, in a pinch, a scroll of last judgment could be used (it also needing DM approval regarding the spell's unusual component), but the reader uses the scroll's likely (ahem) abysmal saving throw DC instead of the reader's own ability scores as one does with a magic staff.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also, is it legit to use Use Magic Device with a scroll? \$\endgroup\$ – Dan B Nov 22 '16 at 17:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DanB Sure. It's just more complicated than a wizard using a staff and saddles the reader with the limitations inherent in the scroll. Feel free to ask another question; employing Use Magic Device to cast a spell from a scroll is messy. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Nov 22 '16 at 17:25
0
\$\begingroup\$

Hey I Can Chan's answer is excellent and I won't repeat his suggestions. I would like to add:

  • if you get the spell on a scroll (or, presumably, a custom staff?), you may be able to use Use Magic Device to emulate the "good outsider" quality.
  • if you can cast ninth-level spells, miracle can duplicate the effect of "any cleric spell of 8th level or lower" without paying an XP cost.
\$\endgroup\$
-1
\$\begingroup\$

The Spell is available to anyone that is able to cast spells of level 8 from the following lists: Cleric, Sorcerer, Wizard, Wrath (Book of Exalted Deeds).

The Celestial keyword demands a caster to be a good outsider. To be a good outsider, you'd need to have the correct creature type. Aasimar is a race that is "LG Outsider (native)", so simply being an Aasimar would suffice.

Also, a lvl 20, LG monk that somehow has access to lvl 8 sorcerer, cleric or wizard spells could cast it, as a lvl 20 Monk is considered an outsider.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The aasimar lacks the good subtype, and the monk's special ability perfect self doesn't add any subtypes to the monk. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Nov 22 '16 at 14:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.