2
\$\begingroup\$

Does wearing armor/encumbrance reduce all types of movement speeds or only your land speed?

The armor table only lists for 20 & 30 speeds. The table located in carrying capacity for armor and encumbrance for other base speeds would seem to indicate otherwise, as it lists from 5 to 120 speed.

The table says for all base speeds, so is that referring to all movement types (fly, burrow, swim, ...) as a base speed or just all land speeds?

\$\endgroup\$
0
3
\$\begingroup\$

Yes (for your own) and no (for mounts & devices):

Armor changes the movement speed of the one wearing the armor, as soon as it does encumber at all. So on this case, it is yes, you get a reduced movement speed on all of your movement ratings unless you have a feat that spares you of those.

However, keep in mind several classes have a good chance to be mounted on a being that can have other movements while in heavy armor (like a Chevalier or Paladin on a Pegasus or a Druid on a Roc). Unless the ride wears a fitted armor (barding), it will move with its own movement speed, only accounting you if you get too heavy. So no you don't account your armor on your mount's movement rating (but keep in mind it adds to your weight). Barding has the very same movement reduction as the table you referenced to - light barding doesn't hinder, but medium and heavy prevent fly speeds as of their own rules.

And then there are objects, like a magic carpet. These usually say if they work with overload and what their altered speed would be - again, it is not the armor worn by the operator, but its weight that could reduce the speed. Others like the Crab-spider-submarine don't state weight limits, in those cases, one might assume they operate at their top speed no manner how much is in them (but GM can also enforce a limit under Rule #0).

\$\endgroup\$
0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.