So I'm starting a new campaign playing as a Dwarven Runesmith, set in the Warhammer world. The DM has decided to use the Variant rule for carrying capacity: Encumbrance. I think that this is a much better system, however I'm a bit confused as too what counted as "carried equipment". To use the example of my character: I have a backpack and other equipment stored on my person, I have no doubt that this would count towards the weight I'm carrying. However I'm unsure as to whether my armour counts as I have proficiency in wearing it. Also would weapons count? I imagine that they do if they're stored on me in their holders, but what about when I am holding them? The same can be asked for my shield.