3
\$\begingroup\$

A cracked orange prism (ioun stone) grants an additional cantrip.

However, the text does not specify from which list you can add it.

Does it have to be your class list, even if not specified, or can it be another list? If (as it seems might be the case) the user doesn't get to choose the cantrip, what happens if the cantrip isn't in their class list — do they get it anwyay?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ FYI, [rules-as-written] isn't just for “I have a question about a rule”. I've removed that tag. When asking about a rule, it's sufficient to use the tag for the name of the ruleset asked about — in this case, Pathfinder. ([rules-as-written] is for questions about the logical interactions of rules when interpreted literally and strictly, which most rules questions are not about.) \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Nov 24 '16 at 20:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well, I used it because it said "Interpretations and applications of rules that only take into consideration specifically what published game material states.", I thought it was relevant to my question since I am looking for a "literal" interpretation. \$\endgroup\$ – Matteo Tassinari Nov 24 '16 at 20:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ I saw you edited comment only now ... understood, thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – Matteo Tassinari Nov 24 '16 at 20:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah, the tag's description needs some work. We have been trying to figure out how to describe it so that it doesn't apply to 99% of questions, but is still useful for some questions. It's tricky. Thanks for understanding! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Nov 24 '16 at 20:11
3
\$\begingroup\$

The spell is already chosen

The user of a cracked orange prism Ioun stone doesn't get to choose. When you ask if it has to be from “your class list”, it sounds like you're thinking that a character who finds the stone gets to choose, but that is not the case:

Wearer adds one cantrip or orison (determined when the stone is created) to his list of spells known or spells prepared.

Like a wand or a scroll, a cracked orange prism already has the cantrip or orison it grants set when it is created. Just like when finding a wand you actually find a wand of fireballs or wand of cure light wounds, when you find a cracked orange prism Ioun stone you are actually finding one for a specific spell, such as a cracked orange prism Ioun stone of prestidigitation or a cracked orange prism Ioun stone of know direction.

There doesn't appear to be a class-based condition on adding the cantrip or orison to your list of spells known/prepared — the magic item itself just adds it, regardless, and specific beats general. So yes, you would get it regardless. For example, a druid using a cracked orange prism Ioun stone of prestidigitation would have prestidigitation as one of their orison choices.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, then I'll rephrase it as "what if the chosen cantrip is not in my class list? Do I get it anyway?" \$\endgroup\$ – Matteo Tassinari Nov 24 '16 at 21:15
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Matteo That sounds like a decent amendment to your question. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Nov 24 '16 at 21:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ Done :) the new version still stands though ... \$\endgroup\$ – Matteo Tassinari Nov 24 '16 at 21:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ Paragraph on that added! \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Nov 24 '16 at 21:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ That would be my interpretation too ... which leads to another question, which I'll post right away! \$\endgroup\$ – Matteo Tassinari Nov 24 '16 at 21:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.