5
\$\begingroup\$

In Pathfinder Bestiary 4 (so says the website) The Great Old Ones have a defensive ability listed as "Insanity" with a save DC. How does that work? (How do I apply that to a game?)

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

From the Great Old One subtype:

Insanity (Ex) Any creature that attempts to interact directly with a Great Old One's thoughts (such as via detect thoughts or telepathy) must succeed at a Will save or be driven permanently insane. The save DC is equal to 10 + 1/2 the Great Old One's Hit Dice + the Great Old One's Charisma modifier. This duplicates the effect of the insanity spell, or the insanity rules (in which case the save DC is also the ongoing insanity DC). A Great Old One using its telepathy to communicate doesn't activate this ability unless it spends a standard action to focus its mind on one opponent. This is a mind-affecting effect.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.