Dread Necromancer is a class who can rebuke undead. When they attain 20th level, they become a lich.

My players have just encountered one like this. One of the players was a cleric. It was obvious he would try to use turn undead on the lich. I am not sure if I've made a mistake, but I allowed the lich to bolster himself.

I am aware that evil undead clerics can bolster themselves, but I am not sure how it works with other classes with rebuke undead ability. Can they do it?


1 Answer 1


This problem has been solved in the Rules Compendium.



If you can rebuke a target of the same type as you, you can bolster yourself in this way.

Page 147


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .