Fighters get the Indomitable ability at level 9.

Beginning at 9th level, you can reroll a saving throw that you fail.

Should the Fighter fail a saving throw made with Advantage and use Indomitable to try again, is the new roll also made with Advantage?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Well, my understanding is that Indomitable is not specific to Death Saving Throws. You could, for instance, roll a WIS Saving Throw vs a dragon's Frightful Presence with advantage due to using Inspiration, and fail. It's unclear to me as to whether or not the reroll from Indomitable would carry over the Advantage due to it being the same Saving Throw, or would it be considered a new one and thus not carry over Advantage. Of course, the same would be true of a throw made with Disadvantage. \$\endgroup\$ – QDust Dec 4 '16 at 22:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @QDust--so sorry. I have absolutely no idea where I got the idea you were talking about death saving throws. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Dec 5 '16 at 0:32


From "Advantage and Disadvantage" (PHB p.173):

When you have advantage or disadvantage and something in the game, such as the halfling’s Lucky trait, lets you reroll the d20, you can reroll only one of the dice. You choose which one.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @nitsua60 "Indomitable" falls within the classification "something in the game" - I don't think this needs to be spelled out. \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Dec 5 '16 at 0:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Fair enough. You already had my upvote for the correctness of your answer; I just thought its applicability might not be immediately obvious to inexpert readers. Have a nice $LOCALTIME$. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Dec 5 '16 at 0:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.