After an intellect devourer reduces a target's Intelligence score to 0, it can attempt to consume the target'a brain on a contested check.

When this scenario came up during a recent Adventurers League game, I gave the affected player a -6 modifier on the contested check. That was a DM judgment call. I've verified that attributes with a 1 score have a -5 ability modifier in the PHB, but 0 is not on the chart.


An Intelligence Score of 0 or 1 gives a modifier of -5.

We know every even number is a + or - depending on which way above or below the base of 10 we go, so it would look like this:

\begin{array}{|c|c|} \text{Score} & \hline \text{Modifier} \\ \hline 20 &+5 \\\hline 18-19&+4\\\hline 16-17&+3\\\hline 14-15&+2\\\hline 12-13&+1\\\hline 10-11&0\\\hline 8-9&-1\\\hline 6-7&-2\\\hline 4-5&-3\\\hline 2-3&-4\\\hline 0-1&-5\\\hline \end{array}

Note that -6 does not happen unless the score somehow drops to a number below 0. If we follow the chart lower, then -1 or -2 would give a -6 modifier, -3 or -4 would give a -7 modifier, and so forth. Same with scores above 21. 22 and 23 grant a +6 modifier. Your judgement call was in error, but that's why it's a DM judgement call. Sometimes the answers do not readily present themselves. No harm done, and now you know better.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thankfully I didn't kill anyone, the player succeeded on the contested check and then the party wiped out the devourers. This chart is great for reference, thank you! \$\endgroup\$ – William M-B Dec 6 '16 at 2:59
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Alternatively, without a chart, you can use (score-10)/2, rounded down to get the modifier. \$\endgroup\$ – karhell Dec 6 '16 at 10:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.