-4
\$\begingroup\$

When I roll the die on my turn to attack and roll 15 does that mean I do 15 damage? It confuses me because I see most people's characters only have around 10 hit points which would mean majority of the time they will just die.

\$\endgroup\$

closed as unclear what you're asking by Wibbs, Miniman, user17995, nvoigt, KorvinStarmast Dec 7 '16 at 13:55

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

4
\$\begingroup\$

No, rolling a 15 is not 15 damage.

An attack and its damage in D&D is (since at least 3rd edition!) handled in two steps:

  1. Roll 1d20 + Attack Bonus (depends on your edition, class and stats) + situation modifiers (including penalties)
    • If you roll the targets Armor Class (AC) or higher, goto 2, otherwise goto 3
  2. Check your weapon's damage: roll that die, possibly add stat modifiers.
  3. That was your action. Check if you got another, otherwise you are finished.
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think this would be improved with some pointers to the relevant rules: OP indicates they're using the Starter Set, and all of this is covered in that book's second chapter, which runs all of 4 pp. if I'm recalling correctly. (AFB 'til tomorrow.) \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Dec 7 '16 at 16:02

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.