I'm helping a friend build their first Sorcerer in Pathfinder. We have decided to take the Arcane Bloodline. While I am not used to playing a magic user, I am GM every other weekend with my group. I have always been a little shaky on the way some of the magic works.

The Arcane Bloodline gets an Arcane Bond like a Wizard does. This allows a wizard to cast a spell from his spell book without having to prepare it in one of his spell slots ahead of time. The sorcerer is a spontaneous caster. The Sorcerer's bloodline Arcane Bond says:

Once per day, your bonded item allows you to cast any one of your spells known.

Then what is the point of that feature, and how does it work? My player has a choice between using a familiar or a bonded item.

Can the sorcerer cast a spell they know without using a spell slot? They already cast any spell that they know at will, as long as they have the slot to use it. What's the benefit?


1 Answer 1


This isn't such a great pick for a sorcerer, a familiar will be nicer for them in the long run generally.

The sorcerer has limited spells per day and per level - so a bonded item will give the sorcerer a free extra spell of any level that they can cast.

For example - if they've used up all their level 3 spells and really want to cast a fireball? Then they can by using the bonded item.

Note the title of this question was "does casting a spell with your familiar cost a spell slot? If so, whats the point?"
The choice for the arcane bond is a familiar OR a bonded item, not both. The familiar will not let you cast a bonus spell, but they may be able to use wands, scout, dance amusingly, get you into trouble....

  • \$\begingroup\$ I see, so they would be able to cast an additional spell they know without the use of another a spell slot if they had taken a bonded item rather than a familiar? That is if I am understanding you correctly? \$\endgroup\$ Dec 12, 2016 at 13:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes. This is much more useful for wizards as it allows they to cast any spell they know without preparation, which is quite useful (in my experience). \$\endgroup\$
    – Rob
    Dec 12, 2016 at 13:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok. So a bonded items spell can be cast without the use of an additional spell slot by the caster, that is the big answer I really needed. Thank you very much. The player was honestly just really excited to have a magical fox companion so im sure they will hold onto it even with the lack of this ability. Thank you very much for your help! \$\endgroup\$ Dec 12, 2016 at 13:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ I edited the question to try and incorporate the discussion you two are having in comments. @ViConstantine Please accept the answer if it answers your question. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 12, 2016 at 18:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ This answer could be improved by front-loading the fact that the Bonded Item is, indeed, a bonus spell slot. You can include your Familiar pitch as a postscript \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Sep 4, 2019 at 22:28

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .