3
\$\begingroup\$

When first being grappled it is a contest of the grappler's Athletics vs. the target's Athletics or Acrobatics.

Does the grappled target have the same choice to use their Athletics or Acrobatics when attempting to Escape?

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

yes, they can use either Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics)

PHB, p 195:

A grappled creature can use its action to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check contested by your Strength (Athletics) check.

Just as in their attempt to fight the grapple with either Athletics or Acrobatics, they can choose either in their Escape. The grappler must use their Athletics.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Randomorph Just FYI, an alternative would have been to just post your own answer. That way, you'd be earning the rep instead. :) \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Dec 14 '16 at 18:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.