0
\$\begingroup\$

In D&D 3.5 edition, there were penalties to armor class and attacks while you were prone. I read a Dragon magazine article that had a domain which allowed you to mitigate the AC penalties while prone and was thinking about how it would work in 5e.

Can you attack while prone according to the rules of 5e? If not, what would allow you to attack while prone?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm going to roll back that last edit--the question you added is well in the don't ask category described in the help center. If you want to ask a separate question along those lines please read this meta about seeking homebrew help (and really, all the metas about homebrew) first. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Feb 19 '19 at 2:54
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi @AbrahamRay, based on your most recent (deleted) question I feel I should spell this out: if your motivation for asking a question is you're “just curious”, do not ask that question, or else you will be causing more problems for yourself. This constitutes the vast majority of your poorly received questions. We can best handle actual problems you are actually facing, not issues you are merely curious about. Sometimes you say “I am just curious but someone must have this problem” — still do not ask that question; leave it for the people who actually have that problem. \$\endgroup\$ – doppelgreener Feb 19 '19 at 11:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I’ve rolled back the previous edit too. Don’t add new questions to old questions. That’s not improving the question, it’s changing what the question even is. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Feb 19 '19 at 15:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I rolled back your edit, because while it might be good that you removed the "curiosity" part of the question, you still shouldn't change it to be asking another question from what it was originally. You can always ask in a new question about the part that was unclear from the answer already given and accepted though. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Apr 12 '19 at 3:04
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @AbrahamRay I think at this point you should just leave the current question as it has been for years. If you have a new/different question, then go ahead and create a new Q&A, but don't edit this one. \$\endgroup\$ – Ruse Apr 12 '19 at 4:10
25
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can attack while prone. As it describes in the PHB's definition of the prone condition on page 292:

  • The creature has disadvantage on attack rolls.

So you may attack while prone, but with disadvantage.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.