6
\$\begingroup\$

Some spells can push the target X feet away (like thunderwave, which pushes 10 feet away on a failed save). I was wondering what happens if the target, while being pushed, encounters a wall or other rigid object. Does it take (bludgeoning) damage? To me it seems logical that it would: it is like falling, sudden force applied to a creature due to encountering resistance from an object.

I couldn't find any rules about this in the Player's Handbook nor online.

| improve this question | | | | |
\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

Spells do what they say. The spell doesn't say they take damage if they cannot move 10 feet so they don't.

This is in line with falling damage as no damage is taken for falls less than 10 feet. Now, if you use such a spell to push them off a cliff ...

| improve this answer | | | | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.