5
\$\begingroup\$

PHB pg. 53 states:

...the creature can roll the die and add the number rolled to one ability check, attack roll, or saving throw it makes.

Does this feature allow the creature to modify a "natural" 1 on an attack roll to possibly make the attack a hit?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

No

PHB pg. 194 under "Rolling 1 or 20" states:

If the d20 roll for an attack is a 1, the attack misses regardless of any modifiers or the target's AC.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ The point here is that "add the number rolled to one ability check, ..." is a modifier, even if not clearly stated so. \$\endgroup\$ – Anne Aunyme Jan 3 '17 at 17:07

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy